Home » Zodiac » When that difficult Aunt comes to call…

When that difficult Aunt comes to call…

I can’t speak for everyone else, but one of the reasons I study and work with astrology is to learn more about myself.  I find it useful to have a greater understanding of how I tick; why I respond to certain situations in the way that I do; and to gain enough insight to maybe do things differently or better the next time a situation arises. The obvious by-product of this is that in learning more about myself I learn more about other people. I also have become much more aware of the behaviours I struggle with most, both in myself and others.  This isn’t a judgement because in and of themselves the behaviours aren’t negative, they simply are.  I’ve been doing this long enough to know all the astrological cliches, ‘we aren’t just one sign, we have all the archetypes of the zodiac within us’, is one Matthew and I use all the time with our students. Of course, in part, this is to try and move new students away from the sun sign astrology they are often so familiar with, but it is also perfectly true. All of the signs are present in our charts, some are simply emphasised more due to the presence of planets.

Ok, so I’ve set the scene and pointed out that I recognise that what I’m about so say probably indicates that there is a deep, dark hidden part of myself I’m ignoring…  But, in truth, don’t we all have favourite signs? And consequently, those signs we maybe don’t get along with so well? Or simply don’t understand?  Having studied astrology for so long the signs of the zodiac and the planets feel so much part of the family.  I suppose this means I’m talking about those family members who fit the saying, ‘you can choose your friends, but you can’t choose your family’. I’ve really tried hard to develop an understanding of these distant cousins so that when they come to family get togethers we can get along better. Unfortunately, I’m still struggling a little. I find the more difficult expressions of these signs (there’s two of them) very challenging.  That isn’t to say that they don’t have very fine qualities too, but when you come up against someone expressing the more difficult qualities associated with them I struggle!

Should I come clean and tell you who I’m talking about? Perhaps I should change the names to protect the innocent?  Well firstly, there’s that great aunt. She’s one of those relatives who no matter how much you try to be ready for her, she’ll always find the speck of dust when she comes to visit. Or will thrill in telling you how you could have done something better and she wouldn’t have done it that way in the first place!  I know she’s an amazing crafts woman and certainly has a way with words, but I simply can’t do with the nitpicking!

And then there’s a third cousin who is incapable of listening to any other side of an argument.  He knows he’s right and simply refuses to budge despite all compelling evidence from the opposition.  Granted he is usually arguing for the ‘greater good’ and not just for selfish reasons and he does all that voluntary work and recycling, but sometimes it would be nice for him to say ‘actually, you may have a point there, I’ll consider it’.

So, yes I struggle with the more difficult aspects of Virgo and Aquarius.  They have lots of good qualities, but when the more difficult qualities are expressed it really pushes my buttons!  Perhaps it’s the large amount of water in my chart, and the fact I have nothing in these signs at all, which means I find it much more difficult to deal with these energies.  Of course the universe in its wisdom sees that I need to learn this lesson and presents me with lots of opportunities.  My day job places me in a very Virgo and Aquarius environment.  Lots of intellectualising and attention to detail to ensure that when the more difficult family members come to call I’ve had plenty of time to practice how best to cope with them.  And the real trick here is recognising that bit of myself that I’m avoiding and projecting on to other people!

One thought on “When that difficult Aunt comes to call…

  1. Pingback: Weighing the heart: the solar myth of Virgo | Ho'oponopono Astrology

Leave a Reply

